Registering to vote

Who can register to vote?

You can register to vote at your current address if you are 16 years old or over and a British, Irish, European Union or qualifying Commonwealth citizen. 

If you are 16 or 17 years old, you can be registered to vote but you will not be able to vote in an election until you turn 18 years old.

If you are a citizen from a Commonwealth country, you can register if you have leave to enter or remain in the UK.

If are you unsure whether the country you are a citizen of is in the European Union or Commonwealth, please check the lists below.

European Union countries

Austria France The Netherlands
Belgium Germany Poland
Bulgaria Greece Portugal
Croatia Hungary Republic of Ireland
Cyprus Italy Romania
Czech Republic Latvia Slovakia
Denmark Lithuania Slovenia
Estonia Luxembourg Spain
Finland Malta Sweden

Commonwealth countries

Antigua and Barbuda Kenya St Vincent and the Grenadines
Australia Kiribati Samoa
The Bahamas Lesotho Seychelles
Bangladesh Malawi Sierra Leone
Barbados Malaysia Singapore
Belize Malta Solomon Islands
Botswana Mauritius South Africa
Brunei Mozambique Sri Lanka
Cameroon Namibia Swaziland
Canada Nauru Tonga
Dominica New Zealand Trinidad and Tobago
Fiji Nigeria Tuvalu
Ghana Pakistan Uganda
The Gambia Papua New Guinea United Kingdon
Grenada Republic of Cyprus United Republic of Tanzania
Guyana Rwanda Vanuatu
India St Christopher and Nevis Zambia
Jamaica St Lucia Zimbabwe

British Overseas Territories

Citizens from the following countries can register to vote in the UK:

Anguilla Montserrat
Bermuda Pitcairn, Henderson, Dulcie and Oeno Islands
British Antarctic Territory St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
British Indian Ocean Territory South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Cayman Islands Sovereign Base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia on Cyprus
Falkland Islands Turks and Caicos Islands
Gibraltar Virgin Islands

Residents from Hong Kong who hold a British Dependent Territories, British Nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas passport are can also register to vote in the UK.

British Crown Dependencies

Citizens from the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands including Jersey, Guernsey, Sark, Alderney, Herm and the other inhabited Channel Islands can register to vote in the UK.

If you have any questions regarding your eligibility to be registered to vote, please email

rating button