Registering to vote

If you and anyone that you live with qualify to vote you will need to register to vote, you will need to do this individually. You also need to change your details if you move house.

Your details will be kept on an electoral register. We keep two copies of the electoral register. You can find out more about them by visiting the full and open registers page.

You can now register to vote online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote and it should only take a few minutes. You will need your National Insurance number and date of birth to complete the application.

How do I find out if I am on the electoral register?

Approximately a month before an election, if you have registered to vote you will receive a poll card, which provides details for how you can vote on polling day. If you need to know before then, contact the council’s Electoral Services

When will my details be added to the electoral register?

On the first working day of each month (except in October, November and December), we publish a list of alterations to the electoral register. In the weeks prior to an election, we may publish some additional lists of alterations.

Application received by Date added to electoral register
Monday 12 December 2016 Tuesday 3 January 2017
Tuesday 10 January 2017 Wednesday 1 February 2017
Tuesday 7 February 2017 Wednesday 1 March 2017
Friday 10 March 2017 Monday 3 April 2017
Thursday 6 April 2017 Tuesday 2 May 2017
Tuesday 2 May 2017 Thursday 11 May 2017
Monday 15 May 2017 Wednesday 24 May 2017
Monday 22 May 2017 Thursday 1 June 2017
Friday 9 June 2017 Monday 3 July 2017
Monday 10 July 2017 Tuesday 1 August 2017
Thursday 10 August 2017 Friday 1 September 2017

How will I know I’ve been added to the electoral register?

We will send you a confirmation letter once your name has gone on the register.

As long as you have given all the information requested you will be added to the register. If we need more information we will get in touch.