Leadership of Hounslow Council following the local elections

Following the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Hounslow Labour Group on Monday 9 May, Cllr Shantanu Rajawat, Ward Member for Heston West, was appointed as Group Leader.

Published: Thursday, 12th May 2022

Councillor Rajawat

As the Labour Party was returned as the Council’s controlling party in last week’s local elections, this makes Cllr Rajawat Leader Designate of the Council. Cllr Katherine Dunne, Ward Member for Syon & Brentford Lock, was appointed Deputy Leader Designate.

Subject to being ratified by fellow Councillors at the Borough Council AGM on 31 May, they will then take up the roles of Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council with immediate effect.

Cllr Rajawat said:

“I’m delighted and humbled to have been elected Leader of Hounslow Labour Group and, should my position be ratified at the Council’s AGM, it will be a great honour to lead this Council and serve its fantastic communities. I’m ambitious for Hounslow and committed to building on the best work of the last administration, while forging out in new directions to build an even better borough.”

Cllr Dunne said:

“I’ve been incredibly proud to serve Hounslow as the Cabinet Member for Communities and Climate Emergency, and am thrilled to have now been elected as Deputy Leader of the Labour Group. Working alongside Cllr Rajawat, and our Cabinet, I know we can achieve even more for Hounslow and improve the lives of all our residents.”

Niall Bolger, Chief Executive of Hounslow Council, said:

“Myself and fellow officers look forward to supporting Cllrs Rajawat and Dunne in their respective roles, subject to ratification at the Council’s AGM. They will bring a wealth of ambition, commitment and experience to improving outcomes for our residents as we continue our journey of being an outstanding council serving an outstanding borough.”

rating button