Covid-19 Vaccine - Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Vaccine ingredients

A detailed review of the vaccines and their ingredients have been provided by the MHRA and can be found at the following links:

Does the vaccine include any parts from foetal or animal origin? 

No. There is no material of foetal or animal origin in either vaccine. All ingredients are published in healthcare information on the MHRA’s website.

Is the vaccine vegan/vegetarian friendly/ suitable for Muslim and Jewish people?

  • Yes, neither the Pfizer nor the AstraZeneca vaccine contain any meat derivatives or porcine products. Nor does it contain any egg.
  • The British Islamic Medical Association have produced a helpful guide for the Muslim community which can be found at https://britishima.org/operation-vaccination/hub/
  • If, and when, further vaccines are approved we will publish information about known allergens or ingredients that are important for certain faiths, cultures and beliefs. 
rating button