Christmas collections 2017/18

Our collection days will change over Christmas and the New Year period. Revised collection dates for the festive period will start on Saturday 23 December and return to normal from Monday 8 January 2018.

To find out your next rubbish and recycling collection day, visit the collection days page on our website.

You can also download and view the recycling and waste collection dates, available via your bin hanger.

Christmas tree recycling

Real Christmas trees will be collected for recycling during January 2018. You need to place your Christmas tree out for collection on the following dates:

Your usual refuse collection day Christmas tree collection
Monday 8 January Monday 15 January
Tuesday 9 January Tuesday 16 January
Wednesday 10 January Wednesday 17 January
Thursday 11 January Thursday 18 January
Friday 12 January Friday 19 January
Please note the following Christmas tree collections are before the refuse collection day
Monday 15 January Monday 8 January
Tuesday 16 January Tuesday 9 January
Wednesday 17 January Wednesday 10 January
Thursday 18 January Thursday 11 January
Friday 19 January Friday 12 January

The Christmas tree collection service applies only to properties using the wheelie bin service. Any residents who live in flats should contact Hounslow Council by phone to arrange collection on 020 8583 5555.

Making Hounslow cleaner and greener

Residents are encouraged to recycle as much as possible. The Council collects paper, card, glass bottles and jars, cans and plastic bottles for recycling as well as providing a separate food waste collection every week.

Sticky tape, ribbons and bows must be removed before placing these items into your recycling box. Cards or wrapping paper which contain glitter, foil or laminate, should be placed into your wheelie bin.

Excess waste

Excess waste left with the wheelie bins will not be collected. Please keep it until the next collection date or you can take it to Space Waye, which is open from 8am-4pm, seven days a week from Monday 18 December, except on the following four holiday dates:

  • Christmas Day (Monday 25 December)
  • Boxing Day (Tuesday 26 December)
  • New Year’s Eve (Sunday 31 December)
  • New Year’s Day (Monday 1 January)

Garden waste

There will not be any garden waste collection from Saturday 23 December 2017 to Monday 8 January 2018 inclusive.